If you noticed an error on an invoice after sending, you can either edit the invoice, send a credit note or copy the invoice as new. We do not recommend deleting invoices, but if you want to delete invoices, you can only delete the latest one. However, please note the following:
- An invoice submitted to accounting cannot be edited or deleted
- Editing only affects the invoice in the service
- Deleting the invoice does not cancel the delivery of an electronically sent invoice
- Deleting the invoice does not delete the version that was sent to the customer electronically
- Deleting the invoice deletes the download link sent via e-mail
- The original invoice cannot be restored after editing or deletion
Editing an invoice
If you have not sent the invoice to the customer yet, the easiest way to make a correction is by editing. You can edit the invoice under Tools > Modify invoice.
Editing creates a new draft of the invoice. The original invoice remains in the service, and you can still use it if you need to. All the information of the original invoice is transferred to the new invoice draft. Including the invoice number and bank reference code. You can make the necessary corrections at this stage. To confirm the changes, send the invoice.
Sending the invoice removes the previous version of the invoice. In other words, the new invoice replaces the previous version.
If the customer wants a credit note on the incorrect invoice, you can send it by selecting Create a credit note. The status of the invoice is Paid, which means you must remove the payments marking before you can create the credit note. Click Payments and uncheck the box. After this, you can send the credit note by clicking > Create a credit note.
This creates a negative version of the invoice that adjusts the accounts to zero for the invoice in question. The original invoice remains in the service, and its status is Credited. In other words, refunding does not remove the invoice from the system, but it removes it from the sales receivables. No payment is expected on the invoice after refunding.
The easiest way to create a new invoice after refunding is to copy the original invoice (not the credit note). The copy command is in the original invoice under Tools > Copy invoice.
The new invoice contains all the basic information of the old invoice. However, the invoice number and the bank reference code change, because this is a new unique invoice. This is not the same as editing an invoice. In this case, you can make the corrections using the incorrect invoice as a template without having to create a new invoice from the start.
Deleting an invoice
If the invoice has become a mess and the easiest way to solve the situation is to start afresh, you can delete the invoice under Tools > Delete invoice. Please note that you can only delete the latest or the first invoice. In other words, the first or last item on the invoice list. If you have created other invoices after the invoice in question, it can no longer be deleted. In this case, you must send a credit note.